Anyone else have a love/hate relationship with cables 🤣

Maybe its because im very very new to cables but i love how they look but the remembering when to actually do the cables and everything stops me from doing them alot

9 Likes

I love cables
I LOVE cables
learning how to do them without a cable jump helps, and the counting rows between the cable stitches can be marked at the end of your row…
one way is to place a marker a stitch in from the end, move that marker each row and back to the start again so you can count how many stitches to know how many rows it’s been.

6 Likes

Yeah i have a stitch marker on there its just cut off in the photo
I love cables and i want to get better and do some cool ones
Its so exciting watching them form

5 Likes

even the fancy ones are still “this many stitches over/behind this many stitches” you just have to remember which order and how many… like dance steps.
I get mixed up with the words, so I like a picture or chart and then I just copy what I see

4 Likes

Yeah i definitely do better with pictures and visuals i think i get very mixed up where trying to read something and keep track of where i am

5 Likes

I have an ancient book of cable charts, I just look up a chart as close to what I’m looking at and use that in place of whatever is in the pattern…mostly because I don’t use other peoples patterns any more, but I got into the habit a long time ago due to the confusion.

5 Likes

Yeah tbh im a little confused right now with this pattern im following

4 Likes

if you think I can be of any help, feel free to dm me

5 Likes

I love cables! :heart_eyes: My first big project after I learned to knit was a hooded cowl that had lots of cables on it! Looks like you are doing really good so far!

4 Likes

This is my first project with cables haha its not too bad because i love bejng able to watch the progress with the cables

3 Likes