Crochet tips!

Hi everyone! I’m new to crochet and i was wondering if anyone had any tips on it?

10 Likes

Sure what would you like to know? x

3 Likes

I would recommend counting your stitches at the end of every row. It might be annoying but if something goes wrong, you’ll know that you only need to go back by one row to find the mistake.

6 Likes
  1. Embroidery

Don’t start out with safety eyes, embroider your faces on. It myght be a pain in the butt, but it will teach you houw to do it.

1. Hooks

Get a variety of hook sizes

1. Stich markers

DO NOT USE A PIECE OF SCRAP YARN
As a begginer i used to crochet the stichmarker yarn into my project and i would get so frustrated, get plastic snap markers so its much easier to see where your row starts and finishes.

4 .Dont start out with amigurumi

Start out with swatches, or little rectangles of the different stiches so you get the feel of how the stichss are formes and supposed to look.

1. Inc and Dec

This is an absolute in making amigurimi. You cant make a 3d round object with out these. To practice it, i made octos, but small ones to get a feetling of where and when to inc, or dec.

1. Written Patterns

Do not throw yourself in there with written patterns, start of with video tutorials, and then fron then, when ever you feel comfortable, you can start with **simple ** written patterns. As you get more experience, you can move up to more difficult patterns

Hope this helps!!! :heart: <3 <3 :heart:

4 Likes

Lots of people have do’s and don’ts that can make it scary to start out. My honest opinion is to start with whatever you’re interested in! If it’s amigurumi go for it! If it’s something else that’s cool too.! If you have any questions about any of this lmk! I didn’t want to go too in depth but here’s some things that stick out to me:

Video Tutorials