Hey everyone!

Hi! I’m new to crocheting and have a hard time making cardigans and sweaters do any of you have tips?

12 Likes

id reccomend making a smaller project first to build your confidence and knowledge of how patterns work etc :blush:

11 Likes

I suggest starting small and building up your skills before you move onto a sweater. I also suggest trying to do a patchwork sweater/cardigan. All you need to know is how to make a square (or granny square) and ribbing. Then you sew it all together and voila! A sweater :slight_smile:

10 Likes

I would start small as suggested above. Or you could just jump in and try it. That’s what I did. I would suggested making swatches of different textured stitches so your familiar with the flow. If you choose to dive in look for free patterns so you can at least try them out.
Hope this helps :purple_heart:

10 Likes

Check out @poppysmicks Sparrow Sweater if you’re looking for a pattern- very simple and the design is so cute!

11 Likes

Hey it kind of depends on what tips you need exactly but so far I agree with what most people shared. Try making smth simple first, I.e. basic stitches, no mosaic etc. I really like clothing made from Granny Squares too. The granny stitch is easy and you get to practice a lot.
I personally also like yt videos better than written patterns since I can follow along and see what’s happening. I like that function about ribblr, too! But with videos you get to see the exact project and with ribblr the tutorial videos are more general.
But if you have questions let me know

10 Likes

Ok thankyou!

8 Likes

Ohh I’ll check it out thankyou!

7 Likes

Of course- glad I could help! :smiling_face_with_three_hearts:

7 Likes

Aww thank you for sharing! :two_hearts:

4 Likes