How did you learn your craft?

My earliest memory of knitting was watching my grandmother who was a professional hand knitter when I was very young. I was fascinated by the soft click-clack of her tortoise shell needles! Then at the age of four. She cast on a few stitches on a spare pair of needles for me and had me sit in front of her and she taught me to knit! She was a left handed knitter so sitting opposite her made it very easy to watch and learn since I am a right handed knitter! I have not put my needles down since! :blush:

12 Likes

Wow that’s amazing! It’s so neat to hear your story :smiling_face_with_three_hearts: And you learned when you were 4! That’s amazing! :smiling_face_with_three_hearts:

6 Likes

I love this story!! Sounds like such a great memory! I was self taught around 5 years old, I picked up a hook and yarn one day at the craft store and just started making stuff up! I thought I had made up my own craft, but I quickly found out that I was crocheting! After that, I was able to learn even more!

8 Likes

Aww oh that’s so cute! I probably would’ve thought that too when I was that age :smiling_face_with_three_hearts: I think I was randomly making up a stitch sometime (or at least trying to), and then found out that it was a real stitch that wasn’t my own creation! :joy: I think I then gave up on trying to make up a unique stitch of my own :wink:

7 Likes

I learned how to crochet in the Girl Scouts when I was 10. I didn’t do too much with it until I was out of college, married and had my second daughter. I started an Etsy shop selling baby beanies and baby shoes and did local craft fairs and had so much fun. Then my main business took off and I didn’t have too much time for crochet. I fell in love with it all over again during the lockdowns of the pandemic and have finally started writing and selling my own patterns. So that 10 year old Girl Scot became a crochet designer!

7 Likes