How Do You Guys Get Nice Pictures?

I’m relatively new to the Instagram/Product shooting gang. Due to health issues, most of my crocheting is finished or done at night, thus, I feel my pictures on both Instagram and Ribblr and lackluster.

Does anyone have any tips for how to get better-looking photos? I use a galaxy S21 for photos as I don’t have access to a “nice” camera (in the traditional camera sense). First, I’m obviously going to hold back my urge to immediately take a photo at night - I’ll wait till daytime now.

Any feedback is appreciated loads! :smiling_face_with_three_hearts:

14 Likes

Whenever I finish a project at night I wait til the next day to take pictures outside. For smaller products I have a light box from Amazon that helps.

Props can help at times depending on the project (I get my props from the dollar store or Target’s $5 Below section and I have a couple dress forms, and foam heads, for any clothing items).

As for cameras, I use my phone (iPhone 12 Pro) as well as my Nikon D3500. Both take great photos! But the editing is key when it comes to product photos.

I use the Adobe Lightroom app to edit my photos. The app is beginner friendly. There are YouTube tutorials to help if you get stuck.

I also look on Pinterest to get inspiration for product photo shoots.

Don’t know if that helps or not.

10 Likes

Backdrop of my yarn shelves or a backdrop I made out of plywood and a wood grain sticker art I found at the dollar store. A ring light that’s adjustable up to 6ft tall or I use natural light from windows or outdoors.
I also use props sometimes to make the photo more eye catching.
I only have an iphone8 and it does the trick I only use photo apps for adding my logo and that’s about it.
Some also use phone lens you can clip over the phone to create effects. I’ve seen them on Amazon.

8 Likes

Oh, you all doing all this …… makes me exhausted.

9 Likes

The things we do for instagram :rofl::rofl::rofl:

9 Likes