How I choose testers for my patterns 💛

Hi everyone! :hugs:

At the moment, I have 11 pattern designs (published on other platforms) and I’m in the process of transferring them to Ribblr.

I’ve done 6 tester calls on Ribblr so far, and I’ve realized that it’s very different to choose testers on here than it is on instagram (for the pdf version).

I decided to share my tester selection process, in case anyone finds it useful - either because you want to be a tester or because you are planning on making your own tester call. I’m no expert, especially not on Ribblr, but maybe my insights will be useful to someone!

Ribblr automatically sorts testers by karma, meaning that I see the highest karma holders first, so the first thing I do is I scroll all the way down and start at the bottom of the list, with the lowest karma. Why?

• If the call is for a beginner-level pattern, then I want at least 50% of the testers to be people at the beginner level. Experienced crocheters will be able to find mistakes and typos better, but beginner crocheters will be much more able to tell me if the pattern is confusing or too hard. This helps me clarify the pattern and/or understand the actual difficulty level.

• If the call is for an intermediate-level pattern, then I want at least 1-2 people to be low karma (if they seem to be intermediate-level crocheters) so that they have a chance to increase their karma.

For the applicants with low karma, I open up everyone’s profile and check their makes.

If it’s an intermediate-level pattern and you have no makes, I will not choose you, because I can’t see your experience. This is the same logic from instagram when designers ask that people have a “public crochet account”: we want to see your previous works and see if it seems like you can handle the pattern’s difficulty.