How to write down a patter g

Hello everyone. :blush:

I’ve been looking through the topics, and I found that the general advice for “how to go about creating your own pattern” is trial and error.
Now I wonder, how do you note that down? Like, e.g. if you try to make a doll based on a person, and let’s say you’re on round 45 and it’s not working out you end up unraveling a few rounds, but where to stop? Or leave it be and start all over again, maybe end up with several bodies for later comparisons?
I have never used a crochet chart before, only text patterns, which format would you recommend for making a pattern?

To be honest it kinda feels a bit overwhelming right now :confounded:.
Cheers all around :raising_hand_woman:t4:

7 Likes

This question comes up often, and recently there was a very wise response (I’m paraphrasing)
If you are confused on how to write a pattern, it is because you are not yet experienced enough and need to wait on trying to publish a pattern.

As far as taking notes goes, if you make a mistake and back up, your notes should back up as far as your work does

I also think the consensus here is written over charted (not my preference though)

6 Likes

definitely a written over charted person

6 Likes

I like charts for smaller things. Big amigurimi though just give me it written. :stuck_out_tongue:

Stitch markers are your friend if you’ve got to back up

6 Likes

I have dyscalculia, written directions are extremity difficult for me… I can knit an item faster than the time it takes me to convert my patterns to publish :upside_down_face:

7 Likes

I have the exact opposite problem, my eyes don’t track well when using a chart, but written instructions are fine. I even have to use safety pin markers to count my rows in knitting, all the rows just mesh together for counting.

4 Likes

Thank you all for your replies.