How you pick your testers?

Hi! I’m new here. I’m testing a pattern of mine but don’t know how to tell which testers are good/trustworthy.

I used to test patterns on Instagram and I picked my testers based on their IG page. However, I’m new to Ribblr and I can’t see much info of an account. Do I choose base on how many makes they have, how long they have been on Ribblr or some other things?

Could anyone tell me how designers usually select their testers? Thanks!

17 Likes

For my first tester call, I would look at their makes, make sure that they’ve actually made something. I also like to choose some people with high karma because I can trust them. After a while, if they have tested for you before, I would trust and pick them

14 Likes

Some designers use karma, you can can get karma from completing tests. However, I have found that it someone has a ton of karma, it may mean that they have a lot of tests constantly going on and it will take them a while to get to yours, and they may not even get to it in time. You can also look at their makes, I wouldn’t pay too much attention to how many they have but more the quality of what they have made. Good luck with testing!!!

14 Likes

I am like @anon12722758 . You will also know after a few tests. You will get into a rhythm of knowing and seeing who is reliable.

13 Likes

I agree you really do get a hang of the rhythm after a while! I usually look at karma, they’re usually more reliable. But i will also accept at least 1 or 2 people who dont have karma to give them a chance to get some. Anyone that you accept, and they complete the task i say remember them for future test & same thing with ones who were no shows on finishing.

10 Likes

I think my next one I will ask for people without multiple tests already. Crazy to think just because it’s easy and you have a week, that they don’t start it until the last day. Just me though.

9 Likes

Thank you! This is very helpful!

7 Likes