I need help!

So I learned the basics of knitting cast on knit and purl and I would like to have some free pattern recommendations I would prefer free since I don’t really know what I’m doing!

8 Likes

Also I only have 5mm knitting needles and a lot of 5mm yarn! So I can’t do anything with other needle sizes

4 Likes

i’m really new to knitting too and for my first project i’m working on a headband. i’m not sure how to link a pattern on here because i’m new here but it’s a free pattern by ribblr!

5 Likes

Oh! I saw that I try it out! Thanks!

5 Likes

I would also suggest trying out a scarf if you want to try something really simple. Just cast on like 30-35 stitches and do a basic knit stitch for a few rows or try stockinette stitch (where you knit one row, then purl the next). This could easily become a sampler if you want to change colors and do different stitches!

If you want something else that can be simple, do a knit 2, purl 2 (a basic ribbing) hat. That can be done in a rectangle and then sewn up the top and side. If you have circular needles you can try knitting in the round!

5 Likes

Ok!

5 Likes

By knit 2 purl 2 do you mean knit 2 rows or knit 2 stitches

4 Likes

I believe it means knit 2 stitches purl 2 stitches @SierraCrochets07 :blush:

6 Likes

Knit 2 stitches and then purl 2. Sorry!

6 Likes

No you’re good! I have only done the stockinette stitch so I don’t know what I am doing

5 Likes

No worries! I hope you like it in the end! Knitting is one of my favoite hobbies and rhe first one I learned.

5 Likes

I learned crochet first! I think I like crochet a little bit better.

5 Likes

Find different stitch patterns and practice them on dishcloths. The mistakes don’t matter, the dishes won’t care! :wink: Plus knitting a 5 foot long scarf will seem to take forever. :scarf: