Is anyone here Bilingual?

So for context, I am from America. I just moved to Japan without knowing any Japanese beforehand. I’ve been learning for about 2 months, but I feel lost.

My question is, do you know more than one language? Is English your first or second language, and what other language do you speak? How long will it take to learn Japanese? My Japanese friends all laugh at Duolingo. Is there a better way to learn?

12 Likes

Like why does “七” (shichi) sound like “なな” (nana) and they both mean seven :sob::sob:

5 Likes

sounds weird, the part of my brain that can’t process numbers and dimensional concepts can’t process different language structures very well either. I can read French and Italian but I can’t form a sentence from my own memory. But for some reason I don’t have trouble translating patterns in other languages, as long as I can see a picture.

8 Likes

Yeah I’m not that way with Japanese. Reading is not the same as reading with the alphabet. There are 50 hiragana, 50 katakana, and thousands of kanji. Some of my friends here didn’t know all of the kanji until later in life. I know some words and phrases, but I panic and just use English. Which is terrible because I’m not practicing Japanese at all. Also the sounds are completely different than English so I sound weird when I talk. My friends are teaching me. I don’t think I’m ever going to be fluent though.

6 Likes

I think I read somewhere that there is actually a high percentage of Japanese that are illiterate

5 Likes

Wow really!? Maybe the older population. Everyone I’ve met knows how to read.

4 Likes

like functionally illiterate, I’m going to look that up now

5 Likes