My crochet story

Hi my name is Ata. I want to share with you my crochet story. I’ve been crocheting for a couple of years now. About two years into it I started to create my own patterns. I love making plushies for children, to see joy in the eyes of someone who sees my work for the first time. Crocheting came into my life from the need to do something, my mind was overloaded with negative emotions at that point. It was then that I remembered seeing these crochet octopuses for preemies. I thought to myself ‘I’ll give this a try’. Went to google and youtube, found a pattern for a bear that was both written and as a video tutorial. Went looking for some yarn and a basic crochet hook. It took me 8 hours straight to figure out how to hold the yarn and hook.
Lately I came to value crocheting even more. My Dad died suddenly in March 2021. After his passing I couldn’t do much, my grief wouldn’t let me. It didn’t take me long before I picked up my hook. You see crochet is a curious and magical hobby. It lets us bring our ideas into life. It eases anxiety, learns patience and gives us joy. Although the stitches are uneaven at first with perseverance and hard work we achieve perfection. Crocheting keeps me going, it heals my mind and calms me down. I came to the point when crocheting after hours and on weekends didn’t cut it anymore. I quit my job and decided to follow my dream and create crochet patterns so others can benefit from this wonderful hobby. Maybe picking up my pattern will help you overcome some rough patch in your life. Knowing my pattern helped someone overcome a rough patch in their life would mean the world to me. If you made it this far, wow, thank you for spending this time with me. If you’d like to ask me any questions or share your story please feel free to leave a comment.

30 Likes