Paypal

Hi
I am still learning about this lovely website and wanted to add my first pattern which has been tested for sale. The only option is stripe which I don’t have, can I use paypal?
Or can paypal be added not only to sell but also to buy patterns.
Many thanks Claire

4 Likes

Unfortunately the only payment option so far is Stripe!

2 Likes

Stripe is great! Much cheaper (payment fees are as low as 1.2%+20p/30c), better looking and overall more modern and robust compared to PayPal- I highly recommend signing up for a free account.

5 Likes

Unfortunately they only use stripe. Hopefully they add other options in future. It is frustrating not being able to sell my patterns.

4 Likes

Stripe is really easy to set up! It seems quite secure in means of it being linked to your bank…At first it was kind of a put off, but once I decided to go for it, it was pretty easy

And if you’re parents arent comfortable with it, you can let them research ribblr and stripe and see if they’re comfortable [you can always set up another bank acc if you arent comfortable having it linked to your own] :smiling_face_with_three_hearts:

You can always try etsy and sell patterns in PDF forms…they use paypal! (And you can still make your patterns in ribbuild)

1 Like

I may be wrong, but I think you can link Stripe to other things besides a bank account…like google pay, apple pay, credit cards, debit cards, the dummy card your bank can generate for you for this purpose. But if you do a little research, Stripe is highly reputable and getting larger. I have been happier with Stripe than I was with Square with my old business.

3 Likes

You could also set up a shop on Ravelry, that requires you to link a paypal to sell patterns. I don’t know about fees that may be attached to it though, as I haven’t been able to log into my paypal for years, and therefore don’t use it.

2 Likes

I am working on connecting stripe but this has come up: