Ribblr of the Week: Meet Andrea 🏅

Say hello to our Ribblr of the Week: Andrea! (aka @rollingyarn)

Hey! Tell us a little about yourself.
I’m Andrea, at the moment I’m a researcher actually, but I design crochet patterns as a fun little side gig haha.

So when did you start crafting and how?
I’m a self-taught crocheter since 2020 (I’m sure so many people understand lol), and ever since I’ve really been really loving crocheting (I have done a little bit of knitting as well, but I’m not the best yet haha). At the time, it really started as a way to pass the time during lockdown, and I think it’s no hyperbole to say that crochet really got me through 2020 and so much of 2021. It all started when I went on Youtube one day and for some reason had one of those Harry Styles cardigan tutorial videos on my recommended. I don’t listen to Harry Styles at all, but I really liked the look of the cardi, so I thought “sure why not” and the rest is history :joy:

And how did you start designing?
Once I got the hang of what stitches looked like, and what they can be used for, I started thinking up of designs I really wanted but couldn’t find anywhere else, so I started freestyling them. Since I’m The Way I Am, I stated writing detailed information of the process so that, if I ever wanted to remake them, I would have all the information I needed to do so. Eventually, it was my friends actually who suggested making patterns. So I tested the water with a small simple free pattern for two pumpkin amigurumis and it became so much of a hit that it really gave me the urge to keep doing it.

Do you have a favorite craft type and if so - why?
oh, I adore colorwork! I ADORE IT, it’s my favorite thing. I love being able to create such detailed pictures from simple pixel charts. I think that’s also where my fortes lie too, I like being able to design charts and recreate them on crochet, and no two designs are the same.

What was the longest project you worked on?