Ribblr of the Week: Meet Celeste! 🏅

Say hello to Celeste (@CrochetChameleon) the designer behind TheCrochetChameleon, and our Ribblr of the week!

Hey! Tell us a little about yourself.
Hi, I’m Celeste and my shop is The Crochet Chameleon, @the_crochet_chameleon on Instagram! I design and sell cute crochet plushies. I’m a college student pursuing a biology major with a focus on microbiology and molecular genetics. I’m very fond of frogs, floral print, and green tea. When I’m not crocheting, you can find me tending to my plants, watching NFL football, or playing board games with my friends!

Nice to meet you! :wave:
So when did you start crafting and how?
As a kid I dabbled in a lot of different crafts; I’ve done drawing, felting, knitting, sewing, and more. Around when I was in middle school my grandma taught me how to crochet. I didn’t stick with it initially, but pretty soon I picked it back up and started crocheting gifts for my friends and family. Eventually, I began making enough plushies that I realized I could build a business based on crocheting!

Oh, wow! Do you have a favorite craft type?
At this point it’s definitely crocheting, haha! I just love the versatility of this craft; you can crochet flat to make decor and clothing or crochet in the round to make plushies and other 3D shapes. The variety of plushies I’ve seen other creators design is astonishing, and that’s why I love crocheting!

So how did you start designing?
Once I had followed enough crochet patterns, I had a grasp of the basic amigurumi shapes that can be combined in different ways to make plushie patterns. So, in high school I tried my hand at designing and made a chameleon plushie! That plushie is the namesake for my business :slight_smile:

What was the longest project you worked on?