Ribblr of the week: meet Chloë 🏅

Say hello to Chloë (@ChloeGetsCrafty) - our Ribblr of the week and the designer behind Chloe Gets Crafty!

Tell us a little about yourself :wave:.
Hi, I’m Chloë! I’m a 23 year old knitter from Hertfordshire in the UK, and whenever I’m asked to talk about myself I completely forget who I am haha. Last year I graduated from the University of Nottingham with a Master’s degree in Chemistry. Besides surrounding myself with yarn I enjoy country walks, binge-watching TV shows, singing and playing guitar (but only when no one’s around), and I’m a proud plant mother to Sandra the cactus.

When did you start crafting and how?
I’ve dabbled in various crafts over the years (weaving, whittling, painting etc) but my love for knitting began when I was very young and I had an obsession with finger knitting! I made a LOT of very long (and not very functional) scarves. I started knitting with needles when I was nine. I didn’t have anyone near me who knew how to knit and YouTube was still relatively new so I taught myself (or at least I tried to) from a knitting book that we had in the house. I got to grips with knitting and purling and tried out a few other stitches but at some point I put my needles down and didn’t really pick them up again until lockdown! My friend had just started knitting and it reminded me how much I used to love it, so I cast on for a blanket and haven’t stopped knitting since!

Do you have a favourite craft type and if so - why?