Ribblr of the Week: Meet Emily (aka restless.stitches) 🏅

Say hello to Emily (@restlessstitches) - a talented designer and our Ribblr of the week!

Hey! :wave: Tell us a little about yourself.
Hi there! I’m Emily (or restless.stitches online), and I knit, crochet, and embroider — but I’m not necessarily that good at all of them. I’m a 20-year-old college student studying English and Sociology, and I’m from Houston (but currently living in Philadelphia).

When did you start crafting and how?
I’ve been crafting for as long as I can remember. My mom is a huge crafter, so growing up I always had access to all the stamps, dies, cardstock, paint, embossing powder, ribbon, glue, etc. that I could ever want. I got into fiber arts more gradually though; my grandmother first taught me to knit in elementary school, and then I quickly forgot how to knit. I tried crochet in middle school, and embroidery in high school, and then during 2020, I started practicing knitting, crochet, and embroidery more regularly — fast forward to today, and here I am, still making knots and loops with yarn.

Wow!
Do you have a favorite craft type and if so - why?

My favorite craft type changes every few years or so, but right now, I’d say knitting. I definitely don’t knit every day anymore, as I used to a year or so ago, but I just love it. It’s such a good way to keep my hands busy and mind at ease when I’m feeling especially restless (hence my username…), and I’ve met so many people (both online and in real life) because of it. I love how there’s both an individualistic and community aspect to knitting.

So - how did you start designing?