Ribblr of the week: Meet Emma! 🏅

Say hello to Emma (@alaskacrochet) of Alaska Crochet, our Ribblr of the week!

Hi Emma! Tell us a little about yourself. :wave:
I’m born and raised in Interior Alaska and just graduated with my English degree! Besides crocheting, I love to read, write, and ski. I actually have 4 published pieces of writing in various journals so far. I’m a baker at a local shop in Fairbanks but I’m getting closer to being able to crochet and design patterns full time which is very exciting.

When did you start crafting and how?
I learned to crochet when I was 14. I was in the hospital and struggling, but an old woman named Dorothy taught me to single crochet and granny square and I started making huge blankets for my family. It was (and is) a great coping skill and use of my time! I took a break but got back into it during quarantine last year and haven’t stopped.

And how did you start designing?
I had so many requests for a pattern and just for advice on how to make my patchwork sweaters. I didn’t really have time to individually give that to people, so I wrote the pattern. It was a huge learning curve but now I love writing them and seeing what people make.

Do you have a favorite craft type and if so - why?
Definitely crochet! I can now just knit and purl (really slowly) when knitting, but I love the speed and look of crochet.

What was the longest project you worked on?
When I first learned to crochet, I made a full (queen?) sized blanket for my little brother entirely out of single crochet. I was still pretty slow then too.

And the shortest one? (excluding frogging!)
I made a lot of small earrings last summer. I could whip them out in 10-20 minutes!

What’s the most recent project you’ve worked on?
I’m currently trying out a cat bag with the same pattern base as my cat sweater, so I’m working through that in shades of green.

What is your usual process of designing?