Ribblr of the week: meet Libby (aka @beatnikthreadz) 🏅

Say hello to Libby (@crochetbylib) - our Ribblr of the week and the designer behind BeatnikThreadz!

Hi Libby! :wave: Please tell us a little about yourself.
Hi! I’m Libby, I’m a UK based crochet artist and the owner of BeatnikThreadz! I’m 21, just finished my bachelor’s degree and now work in a local arts centre trying to figure out what to do next! I spend a lot of my free time crocheting, but I also enjoy drawing/ painting and playing the odd video game.

When did you start your crafting journey?
I think the first time I picked up a crochet hook was March 2020 and I was terrible! But thanks to Lockdown I had months and months to practice. I probably spent quite an unhealthy amount of time crocheting and frogging over and over until I made my first item of clothing!

That’s fantastic! So how did you get into designing?
I shared a video on TikTok of my crochet froggy pocket cardigan and was lucky enough for it to go viral! After that I felt really motivated, so I nailed down on designing the cardigan so it was ready to share and wrote up a pattern for it.

That’s awesome. Do you have a favorite craft type and if so - why?
I really enjoy embroidery and jewellery making, but crochet has to be my favourite craft type. It’s the craft I always turn to whether I’m happy, sad, bored or stressed.

What was the longest project you worked on?
Most likely one of my jumpers. But I have just embarked on a blanket which I anticipate will be my longest project!

What’s the most recent project you’ve worked on?
My latest crochet addiction has been bags, I’m a huge fan of a crossbody bag and have made quite a few recently.

Which of your makes/designs are you most proud of?
I think it might have to be my cat patchwork jumper, I can’t seem to take it off! It took me a very long time to get the pattern right and I’m incredibly proud of how it all came together.

What is your usual process of designing?