Ribblr of the week: Meet Michelle! 🏅

Say hello to Michelle @sproutandfae - our new ROTW!

Hey! Tell us a little about yourself.
My name is Michelle! I’m a 24 y/o crochet designer born and raised in North Carolina. I’m an avid crafter, nature and animal lover, and former figure skater / coach. My passions are creating and teaching!

When did you start crafting and how?
This is a difficult question because I’ve always been a crafty person. My mom homeschooled me and my siblings and kept a large cache of craft supplies on hand when we were little. The first thing I ever sewed was a tote bag and the first thing I learned to crochet were doilies. I went through a loom knitting phase when I was around 10 and supplied my entire family with hats several winters in a row (still do). I think I found my real love of crafting through cosplay when I was a teenager. I loved to recreate dramatic, detailed gowns you’d see on high fantasy TV shows and movies. I dreamed of being a designer one day.

And how did you start designing?
I started designing and sewing my own clothing and figure skating dresses when I was about 14 and around this same time I started my first business making crystal jewelry. I enjoyed making jewelry but I wanted to work with a craft on a larger scale. I found a passion for it through crochet in the summer of 2020. I found with a few simple techniques I could really create any shape I wanted…I found my medium.

Do you have a favorite craft type and if so - why?
Yes - it’s got to be crochet, specifically bags lately! I love watching my working yarn transform into something beautiful. There’s a real freedom to it, you can really make anything you set your mind to. You may have to frog and try, try again, but the satisfaction that comes with finishing a project that took several revisions to get right is unmatched.