Ribblr of the week: meet Mong 🏅

Hi Ribblrs! Say hey to Mong (@MongsCrochet) of Mong’s Crochet - our Ribblr of the week!

Hi Mong! Please introduce yourself. :wave:
Hey y’all! I’m Mong, I’m 20 years old and live in a small country called Singapore :singapore:. Apart from crocheting I’ve been dancing for 18 years - I do ballet, hiphop, contemporary and tap! I’m also a second year med student:-)

That’s amazing! When did you start your crafting journey?
I started knitting when I was 11, and I remember learning from a youtube tutorial while practicing with chopsticks and string. I picked up crochet when I was 17 but picked it up more during quarantine, and I haven’t stopped since.

And how did you start designing your own patterns?
I take inspiration from normal clothing I see on Instagram or even on the streets, and extract elements that I find unique and pretty. Sometimes my customers have specific requests that turn into a new design - my first pattern was based off a sketch by my friend!

Tough question - which is your favorite, Crochet or Knitting? :yarn:
I’m definitely the best at crochet now but I’m really interested in other crafts as well! I’d love to pick up knitting again, and maybe try out embroidery or pottery some day!
I love crochet for its practicality in being able to create wearable clothes or usable accessories. It’s also so versatile in terms of stitch and yarn combinations, giving me loads of room to be creative.

What’s the longest project you ever worked on?
The Nina Top by @handmadebyhannalouise on Instagram. It has a ruffled skirt made up entirely of single crochet stitches, and takes me easily up to 50 hours to complete.

We’re excited to know - what are you working on right now? :star_struck:
I’m working on a simple oversized cardigan, and hopefully write its pattern too.

Which of your designs are you most proud of?