Ribblr of the Week - Meet Rebecca 🏅

Say hello to Rebecca @RebeccaBenckert - our new ROTW!

Hey Rebecca! Tell us a little about yourself.
I am 29 years old and just started crocheting only a year ago! When I am not on my couch with yarn, I’m most likely in the gym or outside playing with my dog. I work full time as an assistant property manager at a luxury apartment community so I make sure to sneak in crochet time on my lunch breaks!

You started Crocheting a year ago, but when did you start your crafting journey?
My first experience with crafting was actually when I was in middle school about 6th or 7th grade. My favorite teacher, Mrs. Reese, started a knitting club where we learned how to knit and I loved it! Fast forward to a year ago when I saw an Instagram reel of someone crocheting a super adorable cow and I knew that was what needed to come next for me. I taught myself to do amigurumi and I have been “hooked” ever since lol!

That’s amazing! How do you decide what you’re going to make next?
I like to rotate what I make so I don’t get bored of making the same pattern so many times in a row. Tik Tok and Instagram are also a great source of inspiration so I can see how people transform patterns I already have or a new pattern I need to add to my collection.

What do you enjoy most about Amigurumi?
I love people’s reactions when I tell them I crochet then actually show them what I crochet. Nobody expects to see an adorable stuffed toy! The actual crochet process is so meditative for me and watching rounds of yarn turn into a little creature with a personality never fails to amaze me… like I created this by hand!

What was the most challenging project you worked on?
My most challenging project is easily this giant elephant I made. It was a little about half my size! I hadn’t made that pattern before so I had no idea it would work up to be so large in the yarn I was using, but once I started I had to see the project through to the end and it was well worth it.