Ribblr of the week: meet Ruo (aka @freaky444yarn) 🏅

Say hey to Ruo (@freaky444yarn) the designer behind freaky444yarn, and our Ribblr of the week!

Hi Ruo! Tell us a little about yourself. :wave:

Hi, I’m Ruo! I’m a crochet artist and designer currently living in the Bay Area. I started crocheting in January last year and haven’t stopped ever since! I’m currently a student, graduating with a BA in English this year. I also work with kids, and teach crochet to kids as well. My other interests include literature, visual arts, hiking, and traveling.

When did you start crafting and how?
I started crocheting last year, but I learned how to knit from my mother when I was a kid. I’ve always enjoyed working with my hands and creating, whether it was painting, making jewelry, knitting or crochet. I picked it up by purchasing patterns and browsing video tutorials. The idea of creating something with my own hands really appealed to me, and I wanted to create a wardrobe I loved and express my creativity as well. Crochet also soothes my anxiety.

That’s amazing! And how did you start designing?
I loved the idea of being able to bring designs and ideas to life, so after learning the basics of crochet, I started freehanding garments based on sketches. Ever since I was a little kid I was interested in fashion and designing, so crochet and knitting are the perfect outlet for that creativity. I started writing patterns because I wanted to share some of my designs with others, and seeing other people create my designs has been the most fulfilling thing about designing patterns!

Being so creative - do you have a favorite craft type? And if so - why?
I prefer crochet currently, it has taught me so much patience and I always love learning new techniques and incorporating them into my designs.

We’re always interested to know - what was the longest project you worked on?