Ribblr of the week: Meet Sarah (aka Fanatical Fibers) 🏅

A new week, a new Ribblr of the week! :star_struck:

Say hello to Sarah (@FanaticalFibers) - our Ribblr of the week and the designer behind Fanatical Fibers!

Hi Sarah! Tell us a little about you. :wave:
My name is Sarah and I am a 28-year-old fiber artist who loves all things art and crafting. I live in Wisconsin with my cat Sammy and plant babies. I’ve been knitting for 16 years and crocheting for 11.

When did you start crafting and how?
I’ve loved crafting and diy my whole life, and always enjoyed making handmade items for people. When I was 17, a close friend and I became obsessed with an amazing movie called “9” so I wanted to make him a doll from the movie as a present. I found a free pattern for it on a blog, poured over hours of YouTube tutorials and figured it out as I went.

That’s really cool! And how did you start designing?
I started designing original items when friends and family started requesting specific character hats and other garments. I usually couldn’t find a pattern for what they wanted, so I would have to fly by the seat of my pants and make up patterns as I went.

Do you have a favorite craft type and if so - why?
I would have to say my favorite craft type is crocheting amigurumi, hands down. I love watching an amigurumi piece quickly come to life. Plus, they are just so cute and fun.

Speaking of Amigurumis - what are you working on now?
My most recent project was a Squeakoid amigurumi plush inspired by Animal Crossing. It was a donation for an Anti-Racism auction and fundraiser where 100% of the profits go to BIPOC and Indigenous organizations and charities.

That’s fantastic! Well done :clap:
What were the longest and shortest projects you’ve worked on?

My longest project was probably a granny square blanket I made. It took me 7 years, mostly because I procrastinated connecting all the squares.