Ribblr of the Week: Meet Tabitha! 🏅

Say hello to Tabitha (@sadgirlcrochet) - our Ribblr of the week and the designer behind Sad Girl Crochet!

Hey Tabitha! Tell us a little about yourself. :wave:
My name is Tabitha (Sad Girl Crochet), and I live in the Shenandoah Valley. I am 25, have a three year old son, and love to crochet! I love 70s music, bluegrass, Thai food, and houseplants :slight_smile: I majored in English and currently work in SEO for my day job! I started Sad Girl Crochet in 2020 while stuck in quarantine, and have been writing and publishing patterns ever since.

When did you start crafting and how?
I was gifted a Klutz “learn to knit” set for my 11th birthday, and became instantly obsessed. I knitted for a year before learning to crochet at 12, and have been designing and creating ever since! Though I’ve always crocheted, my passion for it reignited in quarantine, and I decided to start posting and selling my makes online.

And how did you start designing?
Honestly, I’ve always designed my own patterns. I learned pretty early how to design things of my own - Knitting in Plain English by Maggie Righetti was one of the books I learned from, and it had a fantastic section on designing garments that I still refer to today! I’ve always loved freehanding an item and surprising myself along the way with new methods and discoveries. But I started to take pattern writing more seriously in 2020, after starting the Sad Girl Crochet shop!

That’s amazing!
With that in mind - do you have a favorite craft type and if so - why?

Definitely crochet! I love to knit and embroider, but crochet makes the most sense with my brain - the geometric tendencies within crochet make a lot of intuitive sense to me. I love that I can take my project in any direction when I crochet and I feel that the creative possibilities with crochet are much more abundant. Lately, I’ve been really into crochet colorwork and tapestry crochet!

What was the longest project you worked on?