Ribblr of the Week: Meet Vanessa! 🏅

Say hello to our Ribblr of the Week: Vanessa @NessasKnots!

Hey! Tell us a little about yourself
My name is Vanessa (or Nessa for short) and I’m a crochet designer who loves to focus on creating spooky/alternative patterns! It’s halloween 24/7 in my world. :ghost: I am also a stay at home parent who does crochet pattern designing full time. :black_heart:

When did you start crafting and how?
I started crafting when it was recommended to me a couple years ago as a way to help my anxiety. I honestly did not think I would like crochet so much but I gave it a go, and quickly fell in love! :black_heart: I’ve been crocheting nearly daily ever since. I don’t think my therapist realized what an obsession she would cause :joy:

That’s amazing! And how did you start designing?
I started crochet designing because I had a really hard time finding patterns that fit my vibe. I would try to search for something and simply just couldn’t find anything I wanted. I figured if I was looking for more alternative patterns others must be too, so I released my first pattern and it ended up getting so much support it inspired me to keep going!

Do you have a favorite craft type and if so - why?
Crochet is for sure my favorite craft! I love how versatile it is. You can make anything from plushies to home items and more! I also am a super beginner knitter, and I love my knitting machine as well for quick and easy projects!

So far, what has been the longest project you worked on?
My longest project probably would have to be “The Lost Souls Shawl” - It’s one of my favorite patterns to make, but it sure does take a while! :sweat_smile:

And the shortest one? (excluding frogging!)
I used to make a lot of amigurumi with thick yarn and those were always so quick and fun!

What are you currently working on? Be honest :see_no_evil: - how many WIP do you have right now?