Ribblr of the week: say hello to Sarah (aka Feminist Fibre)

Say hey to Sarah (@feministfibre) the designer behind Feminist Fibre, and our Ribblr of the week!

Hi Sarah! Tell us a little about yourself.
My name is Sarah, aka Feminist Fibre, and I’m a designer and fibre artist based in Northern Ontario, Canada. I got my BFA in Fine Arts and Business from the University of Waterloo and I’m currently studying to become an Art Therapist. In my free time, you can find me crocheting, camping, and playing cozy video games.

When did you start crafting and how?
I started crocheting in 2017 during my final year of my Fine Arts degree. It started out as a way to spend less time on my phone and keep my hands busy but I quickly fell in love and started incorporating it into my art practice. I started learning from free patterns via Pinterest and video tutorials on YouTube.

And how did you start designing?
I didn’t have a family member to pass down their knowledge and relied solely on the online craft community to learn how to crochet. I see pattern designing as a way to give back to the community that helped me learn the craft. By this time, I already knew how to read crochet patterns so I was able to write mine up in a style and format that I preferred.

Do you have a favorite craft type and if so - why?
Crochet has a special place in my heart and is still my go-to craft to destress and express myself. As someone with depression, I find it helps quiet my mind and brings me into the present moment. I’d like to expand my practice in the future to include other crafts like clay and resin!

What was the longest project you worked on?
During my undergrad, I crocheted a full jumpsuit for a performance piece where I walked around my studio (inside and outside) as I unraveled the whole thing. The jumpsuit took me about a month to make and the performance lasted around 4 hours.

And the shortest one? (excluding frogging!)