Should I be worried about this or am I overthinking?

So, I basically only use a very thin yarn, is a 28 WPI (I believe this would be considered a thread yarn), why? Because I’m broke and it’s creap and good quality, but recently I’m trying to make my own designs and I’m really worried about not being able to tell people exactly the size the toy is going to have in a more common yarn weight.
I know testers can help with that, but the problem is that I’m new in all that so I’m really unsure about things like how many testers do I need? How many time I need for testing in each projects? So right now I want to experiment and define a schedule for dropping new patterns before I use testers so everything work well.
So the thing here is, let’s say a person is using filters in their search, they’re probably not looking for a project with thread yarn, and even if I don’t put that information in the materiais, the size in the photos is tiny and yes, I know people can use most amigurumi patterns with any yarn weight, but its hard to know how big the toy is going to be when the original was made with such a thin yarn and I just thought maybe this would keep people from trying my patterns? I don’t know, I’m probably just overthinking it, sometimes I’m kinda insecure and I wanted to hear from you all what you think.

18 Likes

If I saw something with thin yarn, I would still check it out, and if I wanted to see what it looks like in a different yarn, of course I’d make one! I personally like experimenting with crochet, and I’m sure very few, if any, would skip over a cute pattern just cause it’s made in a different yarn than normal

9 Likes

Oh thank you, I was just stressed out about people being pushed away from the pattern because they can’t have a clear ideia of the size the toy is going to have, it’s good to hear this isn’t a big deal.

6 Likes