Who taught you to knit/crochet?

I’d love it if you guys could share the story of the person/people that introduced knitting or crocheting to you! A few days ago, I got the news that my aunt passed away. She was the person that taught me to knit, which led to me learning how to crochet. She gave me my love for knitting, and I want us all to take a moment to appreciate the people that introduced us to this craft :heart:

9 Likes

My grandma tried to when I was a kid, but all she kept repeating was “you do like THAT” when doing the movements. So I couldn’t understand anything whatsoever :sweat_smile:. I’m self-taught. I research videos and tutorials when I’m trying to learn new techniques etc. :slight_smile:

6 Likes

My grandmother was crafty. Unfortunately I was never around her enough for her to attempt to teach me anything. I eventually learned crochet after several (years) failed attempts. YouTube for the win. Teaching books never did it for me.
I did loom knitting for awhile which helped prepare me for managing yarns when crocheting, especially when I do graphghans.
Lately I’ve been doing amigurumi and occasionally graphghan.

6 Likes

My grandmother used to crochet a lot when my mom was young, but i never really saw her doing so.
I had seen a lot of amigurumis in Pinterest and i wanted to learn how to make them (i learned how to sew plushies all by myself)… I got a book of some “easy amigurumis” in christmas but i couldnt figured it out.
Then, in June of last year, my brother got me a kit from The Woobles and i has hooked lol (i actually made a reel in my IG @CraftsByAdrivs the other day of my very 1st make!!)

4 Likes