Advice for New Crocheter

Hello!! :blush:

Im kind of new to crocheting and I was wondering if anyone has any advice for what kinds of things to start with in making. Does anyone have any suggestions for simple things to crochet?

8 Likes

A simple granny square! Theyre fun and easy to make. Theyre made using dc stitches in the round, so youre repeating that stitch for each round. So very easy to learn that stitch and get the hang of it. Once you get more advanced there will be differnt types of grannies you can make​:heartbeat:

7 Likes

You could make some small simple amigurumis. They are quick to make and not complicated. There are plenty of tutorials on youtube, and as a beginner it can help alot, so I recommend watching video turorials at first.

7 Likes

I started with scrubbies and dishcloths just to get used to stitches

6 Likes

When starting crochet, you should start by crocheting in rows. I learned to crochet using amigurumi, but when I learned to crochet in rows I realized how much easier it is.

If you do want to start with amigurumi, octopi and whales are the classic beginner projects. Bees are also popular.

ttps://www.sweetsofties.com/2022/07/octopus-squish.html?m=1

This is my favorite octopus pattern. It’s super easy and super fast. It also kinda teaches you about crocheting in rows, since you do have to crochet in rows to make the tentacles.

I wish I had learned to crochet with this pattern, it’s so easy!!!

If you want a crochet kit, I love using Woobles. The kits are a little expensive, but they have easily understandable tutorials. Even if you don’t buy a kit, they have a tutorials page which explain everything pretty well.

ttps://thewoobles.com/pages/crochet-tutorials

This page is for right handed crocheters, but there is also a page for left handed crocheters.

Ribblr doesn’t allow me to post links, so simply copy and then create a new tab. Type a single h and then paste.