Converting patterns to Tunisian

As someone who is new to Tunisian crochet, I have noticed there is not a whole lot of patterns out there. I seen on Tik tok the other day a girl has started converting traditional crochet patterns into Tunisian. Of course I have many questions on how that works because it would definitely throw off sizing and length due to the nature of the stitch. Anyone have any insight or suggestions they could provide on this? I want to try it out! Thanks :two_hearts:🫶🏼

8 Likes

I do know what Tunisian Crochet is but I’ve never tried it before. This does seem like something I want to see on here too. Hope we can find a solution for this.

2 Likes

Hi! It’s so pretty and I’ve grown to prefer it over traditional crochet for wearables. I’ve made some beanies and scarves but nothing extravagant yet. I would like to make a sweater and I have one in mind but curious if anyone with experience writing patterns could provide some insight for the best way to convert sizing. So glad I’m not alone lol

3 Likes

I have seen on YouTube that TL yarn crafts does a lot of Tunisian pattern work. she also has a website that may have some patterns.

4 Likes

She is awesome! I actually created her mesa hat following along on her YouTube. 10/10 recommend :two_hearts:

3 Likes

That’s awesome! She’s actually how I found out about Tunisian crochet.

2 Likes

I stumbled across it on Tik tok when a girl was making a massive blanket but I was so new to crochet at the time I didn’t dare take on another craft but now that I’m comfortable with my crochet ability’s I want to keep expanding. Knitting is terrifying but I’ve also been told if you master Tunisian that knitting is easier to understand.

3 Likes

That’s awesome!! I have seen a few patterns for sale on Etsy but there aren’t many patterns available there. My Dad surprised me by getting me Tunisian crochet hooks for Christmas so I’m excited to start experimenting with them :slight_smile:

2 Likes