English vs continental?

I’m a beginner knitter and just learned about the difference between continental style knitting and English. I think I sometimes switch between the two or sometimes I just make the knit stitches in English style and the purl stitches continental. I haven’t figured out which one I like best yet.
Which way do you like to knit?

6 Likes

@OwlYarnCrafts, I like continential best. I heard that many knitters like it bcuz it is super efficient.

4 Likes

I prefer continental, because I can hold my yarn on the same side as I hold yarn for crochet, which is my primary craft. Continental feels more familiar and comfortable to me.

3 Likes

Continental does seem more efficient because it doesn’t have the extra step of looping the yarn around, and I also like it for the reason that @TeaLover mentioned, that it’s more familiar because it’s similar to how I hold the yarn when crocheting. Though it’s also harder on my wrists than English style if I’ve been knitting for a while.

3 Likes

The most efficient way to knit is the one you are most comfortable with.
My go to is to hold the yarn in my right hand and flick it with my finger under instead of over the back needle to knit, and the opposite direction under the front needle to purl…it’s absurdly fast for me.
But I use both hands for fair isle and a variation of Scottish knitting for large items.
On small items, I will get to the end of a row and switch hands and knit back the other direction to avoid having to turn and purl in a complicated pattern.

5 Likes

i agree! i’m a beginner at knitting but continental makes more sense to me, although i do english style sometimes. i drift between the two depending on what i’m making and how much effort i feel like putting into it lol

4 Likes