Help With My First Crochet Pattern?

Hey everyone, I’m new here and this is my first time writing a crochet pattern, but I’d really appreciate if someone could help test it out. Since I’ve never written a pattern before, I’m really struggling with describing the way I attach legs (it’s a simple process, but hard to describe in words), and am not sure whether my instructions are comprehensible. I’ve also included some photos of the leg attachment steps, but I wasn’t sure what angle/perspective best conveyed what was going on, so I’d love if testers could provide feedback on which photos to include.

The pattern uses Bernat Blanket yarn, though I’ve also done it successfully with a different brand of size 6 yarn.

17 Likes

For some patterns and people, a video showing how you do it can help : ) Super cute Dino! :two_hearts:

8 Likes

I would love to help out; is there a deadline you would like it to be done by?

Also seconding @NoKittenAroundStudio ! If possible, videos are always incredibly helpful!

9 Likes

Maybe I could write it out for you or teach you some abbreviations ribbuild is really good to use and if you have read patterns before then you’ll be able to write patterns in a breeze.

8 Likes

I’d love to test this for you!

8 Likes

Thanks for the advice! I haven’t used this platform before, so does Ribblr allow you to include videos in your patterns? I’m also sort of unsure how to set up the camera so that I’m not blocking the view of the crocheting—do you have any suggestions regarding that?

7 Likes

Yes, from what I’ve seen, Ribbuild allows you to add videos to patterns! Filming can be a bit tricky if you don’t have a phone stand, but you could always stack items up, then set your phone on top at an angle! If you plan on filming often though, I’d recommend just investing in a phone stand! Good luck on your testing!! :wink:

7 Likes