I want to start making patterns

Hi all! I was wondering if i could maybe get some tips on how to make patterns, thank yall :))

14 Likes

Oo fun! So basically once you know how to make basic shapes and use simple techniques, you can make almost anything! For example, you can implement increases and decrease to make certain shapes. For a cat, you could have a circle for the head, oval body, half circles or bobbles for arms, and triangles for ears. Lots of designers like to look at inspiration pictures and base their creation off of that. Others just go with the flow, freehand it, and write the pattern down as they go. Honestly, it’s just whatever technique works best for you, it may take some time to figure it out, but you’ll get it eventually and it’s gonna be worth it!

10 Likes

Tysm! I will definitely use this advice!

7 Likes

I’ve been writing amigurumi patterns on Ribblr for almost two years now, here’s some tips I have:

• With amigurumi, make sure your lines make sense. You could write them in this format
    1: 6sc in mr (6)
    2: inc× 6 (12)
    3: [sc, inc] ×6 (18)
    4-6: sc ×18 (18)
    As an example on how to lay it out!! The numbers in the brakcets (-) shows the stitch count. The instructions in-between the square brackets [-] show what you would repeat, then the number outside the brackets ‘×6’ shows you how many times to repeat!
  • If you’re making a complicated pattern, it helps to have reference pictures!
  • It’s always useful to say when to stuff too, and when + where to put safety eyes!!
  • Your testers will help you spot any spelling errors and give suggestions + advice on how to make it easier to understand when/if you come to posting a tester call!! All of the testers I’ve worked with have been super friendly and I hope the same for you!!

Goodluck with writing your own patterns, I can’t wait to see what you come up with!! I’d love to help if you have any specific questions!

10 Likes