Knitting advice

So I’ve been crocheting for a little less than a year and when I started learning to crochet I also picked up a few knit stitches but I didn’t do much with knitting until now since I decided to knit a cardigan, I accidentally figured out a rib stitch but I needed it anyways lol but I was just wondering if anyone has advice because it’s working up so slow lol and my hand is cramping

9 Likes

Very nice stockinette stitches! Definitely understand the slow part, since I wish I knit faster, it can take time depending on what type of knitter you are. There are different tips and tricks for different types that can take off a few seconds and when added up will make you a faster knitter, I suggest searching videos for that and also making sure your tension isn’t too tight or it could cause your hand to cramp up and make you knit slower, I think looking up videos on different knitting hand positions could also work since perhaps the way you hold it now may be putting more strain on your hands, also where you knit and your body position play a part too. I like to knit when I have something in the background so I can zone out or watch something since I feel like I do more work since I don’t really look at the piece too much lol

Also the type of needles you use could play a part since the material will affect how the stitches glide over it, also making sure to do hand exercises for knitting before you start can help as well

5 Likes

Thank you :blush: I have about a week of experience knitting and I’m adjusting to using 2 needles instead of a hook and part of it is probably because I’m using 4 mm needles but I don’t have anything bigger right now and I definitely find metal easier than bamboo but thank you for the advice I feel like some of the cramps come from how I hold the needle and yarn because I’m afraid to drop a stitch

4 Likes