Messy Amigurumi

Hi!!
I’m new to ribblr and amigurumi right now. I have been trying new patterns with 6 bulky yarn and a 4.5 hook, but when I do amigurumi projects they look messy. I’m wondering how to make it look more neat (like the pictures), how to tell if its inside out+how to flip it properly, and what loop to crochet into (both, front, or back). If someone could answer these questions and help me that’d be greatly appreciated! Thank you!!

6 Likes

Hello! Based on my experience, getting better is a journey of practice and learning new techniques.
I’ve posted numerous resources on the community board. Type amigurumi into the search bar and you will learn alot.

Right now, the fastest way to get clean crisp stitches is to yarn under and not yarn over.

Try googling yarn under in amigurumi and you’ll find lots of videos demonstrating how to yarn under.

And welcome to Ribblr!

Debi

3 Likes

Welcome to Ribblr! And to Amigurumi!

A 4.5 hook sounds small to me for bulky yarn. I usually use a 4.0mm hook for worsted weight and an 8.0mm hook for bulky yarns. That’s just my preference though, so definitely not the universal standard for what hook to use lol. But if you’re noticing weird tension, then you might want to adjust hook sizes.

You’ll always insert the hook through both loops, unless the pattern specifically says otherwise.

Even tension is also important. Find what feels right for you and go from there. You can always adjust your tension on future projects if you notice your projects are turning out smaller or larger than intended.

With bulky yarn it can be tricky to tell the right side from the wrong side. The right side will be what’s facing you as you crochet. You can add a stitch marker as you’re crocheting to indicate which side is the right side so that you know after you finish off a piece.

I hope that helped some. Feel free to ask any other questions! I’m no Amigurumi expert, but I do crochet a lot of it haha

4 Likes