My First Attempt at Knitting!

Hello everyone! As always I hope everyone is safe and well :smiling_face: Awhile back I had asked about good starting videos for knitting and since then I actually got caught up in crocheting projects that I didn’t have the chance to check the videos out. Now after I finished all my crochet gifts I had a video recommended to me today to knit for absolute beginners, I decided to give it a try! I watched the video along with what was recommended to me on here

As a crocheter, knitting seemed very daunting and I was hesitant to try, but I figured the worst that could happen would be to frog the project and decided to give it a try with some Red Heart super saver Cherry Red yarn and 5 mm plastic knitting needles I got from my local Dollar Tree. Once I started I had some difficulty, but as I continued I gradually understood how it worked and why so the process became relaxing! Of course this was just the basic steps and I intend to watch more videos and more knitting techniques and stitches, but I’m glad I gave it a shot! For knitters here what type of knitting needles would you recommended? Wooden, metal, plastic, etc. Since I’m new to this I’m not exactly sure how big a difference it could make if any. Also, is there any types of stitches I should learn? For VeryPink Knits a Purl stitch was in the playlist so I’ll be attempting that later, I’ll still be practicing the basics until I’m more comfortable before attempting other stitches as I just started and finished this little rectangle today

Thanks again everyone that recommended and read this far, stay safe out there :grinning: :yarn:

The videos that I watched :smiling_face:

Many people mentioned VeryPink Knits and so I watched this playlist https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PLF004A1CE2AB1B12E

and this was the other video recomomeded by YouTube that I watched as well How to Knit - for absolute BEGINNERS! - YouTube

20 Likes

Nicely done! :two_hearts:

6 Likes