Need Help Figuring Out Skill Issue

I just started learning how to knit. This is a bit of a read so, please, bear with me.
I made exactly one dishcloth and now I want to make socks.

The project was relatively easy until I reached the gusset because I somehow started purling on the wrong side (it wasn’t that pretty stockinette look anymore). I decided to frog all of it until I made it to the slip stitch heel flap and decided I could very easily just restart from there.

I carefully slipped all the loops back onto my needles and counted them. Everything was there and set up just fine. No issues with that.

I would like to start this next part by saying that I had the same issue while trying to make my heel turn longer the first time around (but only while trying to make it longer, it was perfect before that) but ended up undoing my work and going with the recommended 16 rows.

Anyway, the stitches bunch up/puff up at certain points in the needle instead of laying flat.

I can’t figure out if it’s a tension issue or…WHAT? I’m carefully tracking my progress and keeping track of the stitches. Not sure how it’s happening but it’s so ugly and frustrating.

5 Likes

I’m not entirely sure what you mean–if you mean that it’s rolling up, that’s quite normal unless you use quite heavy yarn and usually happens with tight tension. That stitches bunch up or puff up is usually also because of shifting tension, but it’s something that’s usually solved quite nicely when you block your project–then the stitches will loosen up and start looking the same, in most cases anyways.
And if you’ve started on the heel flap, it tends to look a bit funky on the inside and feel thicker because you’re basically doubling the layer of yarn (it’s made thicker to withstand wear-and-tear).