Problem with Chibi Rover Amigurumi (Solved)

Hi there! Bought this “Chibi Rover” pattern but got stuck right before Rnd 2. I’m still a beginner at crochet so maybe it’s just me but I feel like I’m missing something looking at the sheet detailing what to do next. It doesn’t have me start with a magic ring but a chain and only tells me once to turn while the rest continues on with different chaining. Eventually it wants me to start stuffing but…am I not just making a flat thing that eventually I sew together and stuff??? I’m so confused lol.

Beginning part of pattern that I’ve done but then got stuck on:

"Chain 16
Rnd 1: start in second ch from hook:

• sc in next 14 sts, 1 db inc in next st,
  • turn, sc in next 13 sts,
  • 1 inc in next st = 32 sc (stuck here)

Rnd 2: 1 db inc in next st, sc in next 13 sts," and so on.

Any help or explanation would be appreciated!

Edit: Thanks to everyone who messaged to help! So if anyone has done a “3 Peas in a Pod” amigurumi it’s like how you can make the pod where you continue in an oval, wrapping around the chain to the “bottom” and continue from there. Eventually it creates a “pouch” that you can begin stuffing and eventually close off to make the body.

4 Likes

If it is French, db (double bride) is a treble in English
db is not used in standard English terms sc is not used in French
I don’t know why they would mix terms like that
I’m confused where the 32 sc comes from and where they go on the next row

2 Likes

I was confused about the terminology mixing aswell…I’m not very good at math, but the stitch count doesn’t appear to add up…

2 Likes

Why on earth would you put the stitch count for two rows together like that?
I hate to think of the rest of the pattern

2 Likes