Ribblr of the Week: Meet Abigail 🏅

Say hello to Abigail (@knitsandknotsbyAME), the designer behind knitsandknotsbyAME, and our Ribblr of the week!

unnamed

Hi Abigail! Tell us a little about yourself.
:wave: My name is Abigail and the face behind Knits and Knots by AME (KKAME Designs). Outside of my creative business, I am a mental health professional and behavior therapist for children with special needs.

When did you start crafting and how?
I started crafting in university. I wanted a unique lanyard for my university ID and decided to try to make one. I never stopped crocheting since then! People started asking me to make things for them then challenging me to make outfits for their kids, sending me photos of outfits for themed kids parties and paying me.

And how did you start designing?
I started designing in 2018. I always made children’s costumes and amigurumi but never really thought I could make something for myself or even making patterns. One day the thought just came to me and I made my first top. People kept asking for a pattern and the rest is history! I love designing so much and constantly thinking of making new things.

We see you’re part of the LGBTQ+ community​:rainbow_flag: - we would love to know more!
My wife and I have been married for 5 blissful years now. She is my best friend and most supportive fan!
The LGBTQ community is filled with so many talented artist and is literally bursting with creativity. I believe art is such a big part of the queer community because it is an expansion of ourselves, expressing who we are, and a way to cope with the very real challenges that persons in this community face. I love supporting our queer community in our city and constantly inspired.

Do you have a favorite craft type and if so - why?