Ribblr of the Week - Meet Amelia 🏅

Say hello to Amelia (@crochxt) - our new Ribblr of the Week and the designer behind [Crochxt]

banner

Hey! Happy to have you here, tell us a little about yourself.
Hi! My name is Amelia and I'm the artist behind crochxt. I’m currently a student in Malaysia. I enjoy spending my free time doing “typical grandma activities” such as crafts, reading, baking, watching movies, and taking naps. Doing this interview is slightly out of my comfort zone as I’m pretty introverted and don’t normally like telling others about myself :’) (We appreciate you being here as an artist! - Ribblr)

When did you start crafting and how?
I’ve always loved art and crafts. When I was little, my mom used to do fun crafts with me all the
time. We made bracelets, clothes for my dolls, very disfigured clay animals, etc. My interest in
needlework started around the age of six or seven when my grandmother taught me to sew.

And how did you start designing?
I first started designing in 2021. This was around the time of the Covid lockdown when I began to get better at crocheting and started free-handing simple projects and releasing free beginner amigurumi patterns.

Do you have a favorite craft type and if so - why?
My favorite type of craft is by far needlework, particularly crochet and sewing. I find it so cool how a piece of fabric/skein of yarn can be turned into so many different things.

What was the longest project you worked on?
My longest crochet project is probably a blouse I made in 2021 (authentic slow fashion really does take forever). I used the Forest Breeze tee free pattern by @forthefrills.

And the shortest one? (excluding frogging!)
The sprout cable tie/bookmark which is a free pattern by @onceuponacheerio. It is so fun to make and can be finished in less than 15 minutes!

What are you currently working on? Be honest - how many WIP do you have right now?