Ribblr of the week: meet Andreia! 🏅

This week we are happy to introduce you to Andreia (@LemonYarn), the designer behind Lemon Yarn Creations our new Ribblr of the week!

Hi Andreia! Please tell us a little about yourself. :wave:
Hi, my name is Andreia, I’m 28 years old and currently living in Portugal. I have a master degree in Architecture but since 2015 crochet has been my real passion.

When did you start your crafting journey?
I learned how to crochet 6 years ago out of an impulse. I’ve always been passionate about arts and crafts, and one day I saw a classmate crocheting a keychain and immediately fell in love. On the same day I bought my first hook and started learning.

And when did you start designing?
After a few years of crocheting amazing patterns from other designers I finally felt confident enough to start designing my own characters. At first I was very nervous but the support of the community really helped me to push myself as a designer.

Is it fair to assume Crochet is your favorite type of craft?
Crochet is definitely my favourite craft! Although I’m also very passionate about drawing and painting, and I’m currently learning how to knit. Eventually, I want to explore more yarn related crafts and start mixing them up.

What is your usual process of designing?
My design process always starts with an idea I either came up by myself or got inspired from somewhere. Then I start making mood boards to organise my ideas, for shapes, colors and materials. Once I have everything planned out I start crocheting and then it’s all about getting those shapes done.
My biggest source of inspiration comes from everywhere, nature, pop culture and pretty much anything that catches my attention.

What’s your favorite book or movie? :clapper:
I haven’t been able to read in ages, but I am a very big fan of Agatha Christie’s novels! My favourite has to be “And then there were none”.

Is there an interesting/funny story that happened to your recently?