Ribblr of the Week - Meet Annick 🏅

Say hello to Annick (@apily) - our new Ribblr of the Week and the designer behind [Apily]

Hey! Happy to have you here, tell us a little about yourself.
Hi! My name’s Annick and I live in the southwest of France. In my spare time, I enjoy playing the piano, video games, and D&D. My background is in 2D animation. I have briefly worked in the animation industry, then shifted to retail for several years and I’m now an independent crochet designer and maker working from home.

When did you start crafting and how?
I started crafting around 2016. With a couple of friends, we had the opportunity to open our own art shop/atelier in the city where we lived, with the goal of exhibiting and selling our work.

And how did you start designing?
Our shop opening in 2016 gave me the big push to start designing and selling my first amigurumi. I wanted to start blending my love for illustration, creating happy characters and crochet.

Do you have a favorite craft type and if so - why?
Crocheting and making amigurumi are my favorite crafts! It feels like making magic, turning ideas into physical creations. I like how flexible crochet is and that it allows a wide range of possibilities.

What was the longest project you worked on?
My longest project probably was my latest pattern called Ume the onigiri. It included more techniques than my previous patterns, and I wanted to make sure that they were all well explained so that I wouldn’t be the only one to understand my instructions :sweat_smile:

And the shortest one? (excluding frogging!)
The shortest ones probably were food-themed keychains (mini donuts, dumplings) I made for craft fairs.

What are you currently working on? Be honest - how many WIP do you have right now?
I’m currently working on writing 2 new patterns: one is a round dinosaur and the other is still a secret :sparkles:

Which of your makes/designs are you most proud of? Share a picture!