Ribblr of the Week - Meet Bailey 🏅

Say hello to Bailey (@BaiRetro ) - our new Ribblr of the Week and the designer behind [BaiRetro]

When did you start crafting and how?
I started crocheting when I was 8 years old. My Gramma would crochet baby blankets for everyone in the family, I had been given several and they always felt so special to me. I asked her to teach me how to crochet, but she only knew how to make double crochet stitches in the chevron pattern she used for the blankets. I wanted to learn anything I could, so we started with that! It was a tricky thing to start with as a beginner, but I was determined. After that, I taught myself everything else I know from youtube tutorials, crochet magazines, and vintage pattern books.

And how did you start designing?
Since I was self-taught, a lot of my growth came from trial and error and making things up as I went. I taught myself how to make (very wonky) hats around 10 years old, and I loved making things that were as bizarre and unique as possible. A lot of those early designers were packed with different stitches I was learning, and tons of colors that usually clashed. As I got more experienced I was able to be more controlled with the chaos! By 12 years old I was selling hats to family and their friends :slight_smile:

Do you have a favorite craft type and if so - why?
Crochet is my passion, but I love any and all creative outlets!

What has been the most memorable project you worked on?
I made a Halloween-themed blanket with a huge color worked jack-o-lantern on it… completely in single crochet! It was the most time consuming project I’ve ever designed and completed, but I loved it!

What are you currently working on? Be honest - how many WIP do you have right now?
I’m currently working on at least 4 different sweaters, a couple of hats, and a scarf. But that’s not including the WIPs that have been banished to the abyss of my yarn stash, possibly never to be seen again…