Ribblr of the Week - Meet Charlotte 🏅

Say hey to Charlotte (@RasmussenResin1) - our new Ribblr of the Week and the designer behind Rasmussen Resin!

Hey! Happy to have you here, tell us a little about yourself.
Hi Everyone, my name is Charlotte, based in a little seaside village in the UK. I’ve always been into many art forms as a way to help with mental health, and expression, and following on from my love for Japanese culture, I came across the art form of amigurumi. Knowing with just a ball of yarn, the amount of endless possibilities that could be created… let’s just say I was hooked :smirk:

When did you start crafting and how?
It’s hard to pinpoint when I started creating art. I’ve done it since I can remember, and I’ve always drawn or painted. I studied fine art and sculpture at college and university, but unfortunately my career path deviated from that (as many do) into a “normal” corporate job, but luckily my love for art and the dream to have a creative job never left, and in 2019 I decided to make it less of a dream and more of a reality.

And how did you start designing?
Designing is something I think a lot of people find intimidating, but it really doesn’t need to be. After following a few patterns from other creators, you learn the basic shapes, what stitches you like and what you don’t. I’ve always had an over active imagination, so channeling those ideas into something in yarn was exciting.

Do you have a favorite craft type and if so - why?
I obviously love crochet (otherwise I wouldn’t do it for a living), but I also love sculpting, so finding a way to incorporate that into my business (in the form of handmade hooks) just seemed fitting. And much like crochet, clay also doesn’t restrict what you can turn it into, the freedom to create whatever you can think of.*

What was the longest project you worked on?