Ribblr of the Week - Meet Erin 🏅

Say hello to Erin (@ecmcrochet) - our new Ribblr of the Week and the designer behind Ecmcrochet

Hi! Happy to have you here, tell us a little about yourself.
Hi I’m Erin, the creator behind Ecm crochet. Most people assume that “ecm” is an acronym for my initials but the “cm” actually represents my dog’s name, Chunky Monkey.

I was born and raised in the Bay Area, California, and I’m a self-proclaimed foodie and boba connoisseur. I’m currently an architecture thesis student, and my studies have allowed me to travel a lot from working in Hawaii to studying in Rome and Seoul where I had the opportunity to visit the renowned yarn café! When I’m not crocheting or in studio, you can usually find me swimming, baking, listening to music, or watching a movie.

When did you start crafting and how?
As a kid, I was always into arts and crafts and loved to make friendship bracelets, lanyards, etc. I first learned how to crochet when I was 10 from an amigurumi kit that I got from a bookstore, but I never completed the kit and fell off of crochet. Then one night in summer of 2021, I found the crochet hook from the kit in my room and decided to pick up crocheting again. I started ecm crochet as a crochet journal for myself to track my progress, and everything grew from there.

And how did you start designing?
My duckie pattern was the first plushie I designed on my own. It was inspired by the bathroom in my college apartment that had a shower lined with yellow tile and our yellow bathmat. I thought a yellow duck would be a cute plushie to be a bathroom mascot for our apartment but couldn’t find an existing design that I liked online, so I took it upon myself to make my own.

Do you have a favorite craft type and if so - why?