Ribblr of the Week: Meet Freya! 🏅

Say hello to Freya (@freyascreations), an amazing designer and our Ribblr of the week!

Tell us a little about yourself.
Hi! I’m Freya from @freyas__creations on Instagram and I am a self taught crochet artist and designer. I am soon to be 18 years old and I live in the UK. I have an adorable cat called Ronnie and he is the most perfect little boy ever!! I don’t really have any other hobbies, just crochet but that is a lifestyle at this point, lol. I am in college and I’m on Level 3 furniture making. I also have a youtube channel where I show you how to make my free patterns!

When did you start crafting and how?
I’ve enjoyed crafts for as long as I can remember. I have always loved to create things. I would draw with my nan and she would teach me how to draw in her style,she is my biggest inspiration when it comes to art and things I make today. In junior school I was a part of a knitting group at lunch times and we would all make squares which would then be sewn together to make a blanket and donated to care homes. But I didn’t start crocheting until 3 years ago during the first covid lockdown as a way to pass the time and I never would have imagined making a business out of it and making my own patterns for others to use.

And how did you start designing?
I started designing by reading and using written patterns. Once I got better at crocheting I would make freehanded items and wanted to share them. I surprisingly grasped abbreviations really quickly and how patterns were written and layed out. A lot of my designs have come straight from my brain while being in a class,I always make a little sketch of my ideas and then would eventually make them.

Do you have a favorite craft type and if so - why?