Ribblr of the Week: Meet Hunter Mae 🏅

Say hello to Hunter Mae (@maecrochets) - an amazing designer and our Ribblr of the week!

Tell us a little about yourself.
I’m Hunter Mae of Mae Crochets and I’m 24. I’m from the Midwest and currently live here. By day, I’m a software engineer, and by night, a fiber artist. When I’m not crocheting or knitting, I enjoy tap dancing, hunting, hiking, and spending time with my husband and two crazy dogs.

When did you start crafting and how?
My grandma taught me how to crochet when I was 8. She had learned from her mom and passed it down to me. I crocheted for a while, but then stopped due to other commitments. When I was in high school, after she passed away, I decided to take it up again. To my surprise, my hands remembered the skills and I was able to pick it up quickly. I taught myself further with YouTube videos. In the last two years, I’ve also learned how to knit using YouTube videos.

And how did you start designing?
I’ve always been drawn to patterns. Written patterns are much easier for me to comprehend than visual ones, such as videos and graphs. As a software engineer, pattern designing is a language I’m comfortable with, just like coding. Two years ago, I decided to try my hand at designing a pattern for the first thing my grandmother taught me to make: a double-lined potholder. I instantly fell in love with writing patterns and gained confidence in my ability to design my own.

Do you have a favorite craft type and if so - why?
I discovered Tunisian crochet about three years ago and fell in love with it. My favorite thing about it is the untapped market. There are fewer Tunisian crochet patterns compared to regular crochet patterns, making it easier for me to jump in and design patterns. Learning a new technique was thrilling, and I love that Tunisian crochet produces unique results.

What was the longest project you worked on?