Ribblr of the Week - Meet Isl 🏅

Say hello to Isl (@haniscrochet ) - our new Ribblr of the Week and the designer behind [Haniscrochet]

Tell us a little about yourself
Hi! I am Isl. I am a Korean born and living in Mexico city! I went to culinary school but now I am a full time crochet designer. I still haven’t given up on my career, I want to make a crochet cafe in Mexico
city, where you can come and chill while making things or just watch other people make crochet and knitting stuff.

After finally having enough courage to go to markets (I am shy and get drained in large
crowds) I stopped just selling 100% online, and sometimes you may see
me at some conventions!

I am very lazy in making social media stuff… don’t hate me, I don’t enjoy editing haha but I am always here for you ;D

When did you start crafting and how?
I started when I saw my cousin making a little crochet teddy bear for my brother’s wedding, I knew at the moment I wanted to learn how to do that and all the potential plushies I could make.

And how did you start designing?
I started designing because I couldn’t find patterns to make Pokémon and other characters I really liked to get, but they were too expensive.

Do you have a favorite craft type and if so - why?
Hands down for Amigurumi, I need projects that I can finish in less than 1 week, because I get bored too easy.

What has been the most memorable project you worked on?
My giant Guardian from Zelda Breath of the Wild, sadly I free handed it, on the positive side, he is happily adopted and looking at the Swiss Alps.

What are you currently working on? Be honest - how many WIP do you have right now?
Maybe 6?, but if we count the box of half made plushies I left years ago… maybe 50? Don’t be angry!

Which of your makes/designs are you most proud of?
Guardian of course!

What is your usual process of designing?