Ribblr of the Week - Meet Jayda 🏅

Say hello to Jayda (@jaydedcrochet) - our new Ribblr of the Week and the designer behind Jaydedcrochet!

Hey! Happy to have you here, tell us a little about yourself.
Hi there!! My name is Jayda and I am a crochet artist and pattern designer! I am 22 years old and located in Myrtle Beach, South Carolina, but I was born and raised in New York! I live with my amazing boyfriend Blake and our three cats Jordan, Timmy and Teddy! I am always creating something, whether it be a plushie, a pattern, a drawing, makeup look etc. I just love to make art!

When did you start crafting and how?
I started crafting ever since I was old enough to hold a pencil! One of my earliest childhood memories is drawing on my walls in crayon as a toddler, and I don’t think I’ve ever stopped since then. In regards to crochet, I actually started crocheting as a pre-teen, after being introduced to fiber arts by my amazing grandmother who taught me how to knit. Once I learned how to knit I taught myself how to crochet!

And how did you start designing?
As my love for crochet blossomed and I discovered all of the amazing things you can create using yarn and more specifically plush yarn, I wanted to try creating my own designs! I mainly make patterns for plushies because they’re my favorite thing to crochet.

Do you have a favorite craft type and if so - why?
I do, and it would have to be crocheting! Crocheting is so relaxing and satisfying to me. I love to put a TV show or podcast on and just crochet my heart away. It’s my absolute most favorite thing to do. I think I love to crochet so much because I can free hand things and make them in my own way, but I also love structured art.

When painting and drawing, sometimes the fear of a blank page is daunting. Whereas with crochet, there are guidelines you have to follow. I really appreciate the structure, and I think it allows me to be even more creative.

What was the longest project you worked on?