Ribblr of the Week: Meet Jen 🏅

Say hey to Jen (@jenniferhu) - our new Ribblr of the Week and the designer behind poachingegg!

profilepic

Hey! :wave: Tell us a little about yourself.
Hi everyone, I’m Jen (she/her)! I’m a college student majoring in organismal biology (an excuse to spend time with frogs). In my free time, I enjoy crocheting, listening to audiobooks at 3x speed, and going out to look for herptiles.

3x! That’s impressive :scream:
When did you start crafting and how?

I learned how to crochet as an elective at my Mandarin school on the weekends, so I started crocheting in second grade. I always crocheted on and off from then on and then finally got back into it in 2021 or so.

And how did you start designing?
I met so many cool people in the Instagram crochet community and was inspired to make some of my own patterns as well! It’s always so much fun seeing how creative everyone else is; it really inspires me.

Do you have a favorite craft type and if so - why?
I love crocheting because it’s so ingrained in my muscle memory that I can multitask while doing it, but I would be super interested in learning how to punch needle and make cute rugs or coasters while still being in the fibercraft sphere.

What was the longest project you worked on?
The longest projects I’ve worked on are wearables because I usually don’t have the patience to finish them. I’ve been about an eighth of a way through @stringofkisses’ Rafaela top for over a year now, and I really need to finish it because I love how it looks.

And the shortest one? (excluding frogging! :frog:)
I really enjoy making @the.llama.crochet ‘s mini teddy bears for keychains! It takes probably less than half an hour to make them, and I’ve made so many that the pattern is basically memorized.

What are you currently working on? Be honest - how many WIP do you have right now? :wink:
I’m currently making a collection of Sanrio cupcakes and Snoopy plushes. I definitely have over sixteen WIPs right now </3